Spring (Change) Is Coming!

Spring (Change) is Coming:

Spring is coming guys, it’s coming. Change is coming too, yes it is  I have to remind myself that change is coming when I’m having a particularly hard day, or a hard few days, a hard week, etc. I must remind myself at these times that change is coming.
Sometimes, it’s hard to see. If we’ve been dealing with something, like our illness/chronic pain for years, it may be hard to hold onto “change is coming”. Like sometimes if my partner tells me that, I don’t see it! I don’t feel it! Hell, I don’t even always want to hear it! But, it’s always true. Even someone dying from their illness is going to have better days, and worse days, but there are ALWAYS better days!

I have been in the place that I see some others with chronic pain and illness in, where they are just down. Just so down. No hope. No light. No nothing. I’ve been there. I was there for a long time, and it was such a tragic place to be. Well, I am blessed to say that I don’t feel as if I live in that dark place 24/7 these days. Sure I make pit stops there, but I don’t live there.

The funny thing is too, that my illness hasn’t gotten any better. In fact, it’s become dramatically worse over the past couple of years, to where I am basically home-bound. Yet I have more peace today than I did when I could actually be out and about more than I am today.

I can say a lot of that is from my Higher Power- a lot of prayer, and a lot of giving the fuck up what I have no control over. It hasn’t come easy, it hasn’t come quickly, but it came. Change is coming! Also, I attribute much of these changes to working the 12 steps of Alcoholics Anonymous. I feel I worked them from a different angle since my illness began 3 years ago, but never the less, they have still helped me. I just want to let some of you know that if you are interested in looking into all this as I have, as a path to peace, you don’t have to be an alcoholic to work the 12 steps! 

There are 12 step groups for E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G! The one I want to share with you right now, is there is actually a Chronic Pain Anonymous! The cool part being is they have groups online, and over the phone, which is great for those of us with mobility issues. A few states do also have in-person groups, and they can also help you start an in-person group in your own area, if you find that is something you have interest in. Here’s the website, please just take a look at it. You never know, it could do some good  Can’t hurt, might help 😛 http://www.chronicpainanonymous.org/.

And lastly, I would like to leave you with two of my “change is coming” inspiration songs that I love. Check em out if ya like 😉
Love and light to all my chronic pain sisters and brothers, and to the whole wide world,
Jessie D.


Leave a Reply

